Wildwood Mountain Vineyards

The weather has been weird today... cloudy but still quite hot. We were sitting on the porch with our coffee when a sudden strong gust of wind came from the east, lifted the umbrella from its stand and deposited it on the highest point of the roof. While we were trying to figure out how to get it down, a second gust of wind obligingly came up from the west and blew it back down again. 

We have several umbrellas. It's quite a bit of work furling and unfurling them at appropriate times....

I didn't have time for the Spike Walk this morning so we just did the circuit around our house...up through the field to Los Alamos and back to the house on Wildwood. See a different view of the house from Los Alamos and across the neighbors' field, strewn with the remains of the giant eucalyptus trees they cut down after the fire, in extras. I cropped out the road construction equipment. Much of it is disappearing without, as I suspected, repaving the part of the road that really needs it.

The woman on the next reformer in Pilates said to me after class, 'I'm getting too old to do this class. It's too hard'. I told her I sympathised with the way she was feeling, but she should think of it as 'challenging' rather than too hard. I said this because I felt, for a change, that I rose to the challenge fairly well.

The goldfinches are enjoying the leaves of the Mexican sunflowers in the garden. There was a nice picture of several of them at work, backed by the purple salvia growing against the wall and the orange sunflowers, but my two favorite cameras are in need of attention, and I haven't gotten around to getting them seen to.

Instead, it is a picture of the mountain across from us with vineyards growing well up its flank. The vines really did protect the mountain which is coming back better than the Hood Mountain ridge, visible from our living room windows. It is looking quite beautiful again.

Thank you for all the love for my reunion with my friend Connie after 18 years. I looked it up. We never had a disagreement, we just drifted apart as our lives took us in different directions. I am so grateful that she went to the trouble of finding me (she Googled me for my address...) and that our lives are converging once again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.