Occasional Musings

By cookingisgood

Sugarwork

My last stop on The Late Shows tour last night was a venue called the Mushroom Works studio where there was a large display of artwork under the title "Let them eat Cake". To go along with the theme, a confectioner was there selling the most beautiful and exotic cupcakes (think cappuchino and brandied peach, that sort of thing, all beautifully swirled with icing) and a lady was also there with really fun cupcakes decorated with sugarpaste EVERYTHINGS - cars, bees, hamburgers, flowers, you name it. She was letting people have a go themselves and showing how effects could be created. So, here are my attempts at a sugarpaste rose and a tortoise - not to bad for a first go I felt :)

There was some fab art in this venue, ie real pictures rather than stuff which made me screw up my face and go "Hmmmm...?!" There's a guy who does beautiful vibrant coloured graphic pictures of Newcastle's iconic sights and I'd seen his work before. It's well out of my price range but it's great to know where he's based... I may be able to stretch to a "limited edition print" at some point :-)

Backblipped yesterday with a "Yes, but is it Art?!" question about another Late Shows installation!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.