Occasional Musings

By cookingisgood

Always nice ;-) ...

...when you have your own private fire exit!

This was my simple guest room in Sidney-Sussex college in Cambridge where I'd travelled to for an interview for a postdoctoral research position.

It was all a bit of a mad week, finding out I hadn't got a particular job on Tuesday then having a professor calling me on Wednesday about a CV I'd sent him 4 days earlier and arranging to see him the next day.

First impressions are that the research group seem pleasant and the proposed project (12 month tenure) would be interesting. I'm sitting reading a pretty complex research paper this evening and wondering if I'll get a grilling on it tomorrow. All sorts of thoughts running through my head re: relocation and the fact that this is one of the intellectual powerhouses of the country...yep, the self confidence isn't entirely convinced that it's up to this (or whether I'd have to turn into an arrogant person to survive...which I don't think I could do)

Adrenalin and butterflies and excitement and and and... (just hope I can unwind enough to sleep!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.