Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

And then it rained

A friend posted pictures of the deer in Bushy Park, so after getting a much needed haircut, and checking the forecast (no rain due until late afternoon), I headed down the M3 to investigate for myself.  

I had a lovely picnic lunch sitting in the sun by the side of the stream feeding into the Diana Pond, watched by numerous wildfowl, and even a young doe turned up.  I then wandered round the pond and across the open meadow/scrub land taking the odd photo of deer (extra 1), but mainly just enjoying the fresh air and walk before heading into the Woodland Gardens.

At this point I contemplated walking to the Water Gardens, which I have never visited, but then it rained  - about 2 hours earlier than forecast - and boy did it drop down with a thunderous backdrop!  Fortunately trees, umbrellas and camera bag cover kept me fairly dry, but it was a good excuse to head to the cafe for coffee and cake.

Once the rain eased, I squelched wandered back to the car just in time to beat the next downfall. I didn't care, it had been a good trip out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.