Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Path to the Sunset

Good evening all. This sky is what greeteed me at the railway station this prevening. I'm rather pleased with the composition, and also with what I managed to do with it: the sky was overexposed, and the path dark and invisible straight from the camera, but some judicious use of multiply and screen layers, masked to the sky and path respectively, dealt to that pretty effectively, I think.

In fact I also think it'll reward a larger look-see.

This sky is also a whole lot better than my feelings about the sorry state of what passes for food in the Western/1st/developed/wossname world. I really do recommend Michael Moss' book "Salt, Sugar, Fat". It's a bit stomach-clenching, and frustragetion-making, but it is worthwhile to read about not just the fact that processed foods are full of utter crap (we all know that, duh), but the extent of it, the precision of it, the care taken to determine how best to maximise our cravings and minimise our satiety so as to maximise our consumption and their profits. It's fascinating. Like roadkill.

There was a nice quote I saw on Tumblr recently, attributed to someone named Phil Stevens (I found mention of an Aussie Rules footballer, and a Canadian Ice Hockeyer, and couldn't which - if either - of them said it): "Athletes train and eat; they don't exercise and diet". I love it. My problem is that now I eat to run, and when my damn shin stops me from running ... ;-)

Anyway. Back to that book then...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.