Road Trip

I got up at 6am this morning to try to beat the heat, but it was a crap night and there was no air so it didn't make much difference! I did my chores and packed my things, and then went to mum's, hoping to have some time there before we left. Instead, my dad had a spiz fit because I wanted to leave my car there, so we had a big bust up and then I wanted to cry and didn't really want to go....

I parked my car in my sister's driveway, and went in while they were getting ready. Lucy was jumping about and the living room was a sea of toys.... I offered to help but they said the best thing was to entertain her. We stopped at Waitrose first to do a shop and take stuff with us, and were on the road by 1:30pm. We went the scenic route, and passed Stone Henge, which I had no idea was so close! 

We made one stop and arrived about 5:30pm, so it wasn't too bad. We were staying in Slapton, at the holiday home of a client of N's. It's a period cottage, with beams and 70's decor, but it was really homely and light. Lucy was pleased to see us, and we unpacked and checked the place out. After a cup of tea and Lucy had some pasta, we walked down to the pebble beach at the bottom of the road. It was really pretty, and we walked with her in the middle- her little shoe fell off and we didn't notice at first! 

We all took socks and shoes off and had a paddle in the sea, which was really nice! She squealed and was a bit hesitant at first, but then seemed to really enjoy it! I met a little Schnauzer called Molly who was so cute, and I left her in one of the extra pictures. We saw a seal swimming very close to the shore and Ro was enchanted! 

We took turns to push Lucy up the hill in the pushchair, and she made us sing as a group on the way back - Do Re Mi from 'The Sound of Music'...

When we got back it was about 8:30pm, so Lucy was bathed, and N and Ro put the sausages on. I read her a story, and she was so excited to have us there, that she didn't go to bed until midnight like us! We ate downstairs together, and then at 10:30pm I went up to bath and get ready for bed. The whole time she was back and forth, tapping on the door, talking and shining a torch under the door, even passing tissues! So funny! She was still up and down when Ro went in after me, and I didn't realise that she was turning the lights on and off outside the bathroom door so Ro had a disco bath! 

She was still capering and my sister was a bit cross with her, but she was just so happy and it was different, so she finally conked out when we did. It was hilarious and we whispered downstairs talking about all the shenanigans! The crowning touch was when I was making my last cup of tea, and I passed Shelle with a cup of water in her hand, and she said "she's thirsty".... sarcastically as she met her demands at getting on for midnight! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.