MiasMeow

By MiaMeow

Opening Night

Today is ANZAC Day, a day of remembering the soldiers who died in WW1, WW2, any war that they faught for Australia.
This begins with a dawn service in every city-which gets bigger every year! They march down the main road in Melbourne, to the Shrine of Rememberance and lay wreths, have a moment of silence and remember. This is also the only day of the year that 2UP is legal to play!!!
It is also the day of the biggest footy match next to the Grand Final - the Anzac Day Magpies V Bombers clash! It's crazy, the game gets screened in every venue, and on the giant public screen in Federation Sq.

I went into work and stopped in Fed Sq to watch some of the match, it's part of being a Melbournian you just have to watch it. I don't follow either team, mine is Carlton but i was going for Essendon Bombers as I despise the other team. There were so many people in Fed Sq in their footy gear, with foldy chairs and a beer.
The Bombers had not won this match since 2005, and they won by something like 50 points! I then headed down into the dungeon to set up for opening night.

The image above is of my backstage area, and all my costume changes for the 8 actors. Opening night went well, and my friend Matt came along. He had just come from Pies Bombers match at the MCG and watched his team win so he was having a pretty footy filled day! The producers had been slack at organising drinks after, and as it was a public holiday the bar at the theatre was shut! We all got split up and I lost them all, so Matt and I went across to Fed Sq's Transport bar for a quick drink.
The venue was horrid! There were so many drunk people there from the footy, and even from the dawn service! We had one drink and got out of there! Plus I am totally exhausted from all our long days, I wasn't up for a big night!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.