Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Mt. Cappuccino

Margie: I loved being a mountain climber, but this is the only kind of mountain I can manage now.

We met early in the day because blistering heat is expected in the afternoon. I took Margie a book of short stories by Roald Dahl, Skin and Other Stories, including one called “Sound Machine.” It was recommended by cbimages in response to Margie’s wish to speak the language of silver linden trees. 

I explained all that to Margie as we sat down, and she remembered with pleasure the marvel of the blossoming linden trees. However when we stood up to leave, she saw the book and asked if it were mine. I gave it to her a second time and explained again, and she laughed, “Apparently I’m still asleep. I’m sure I’ll enjoy reading it, even if I can’t remember who gave it to me or why. I still read the New York Times every day, and when I’m reading it, I feel connected to the world, though when I finish it, I can’t tell you what I just read.”

We agree that it’s good to feel connected to the world. I said there's not much we can do about the news, even if we do remember it.

I’ve finished making a second Blurb book of photos and notes from my meetings with Margie. I’ll give it to her for her 96th birthday. It’s called Taking It All In and features this photo on the cover.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.