Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Made on the Forth

Chamaeleo and I were off on an expedition today - train to South Queensferry. Actually, to Dalmeny, which is why 'South Queensferry' didn't show up on the ticket machine, despite prolonged prodding of the 'Q...'

The wind was a force 10 gale at least, and at times I was afraid of my hat being whipped off and landing in the sea. I may have jumped in to rescue it, remembering what it cost me. We had fun walking along the waterfront taking photos all the way, with me filling in facts and figures about the building of the bridge. Two blippers together - can't be in a hurry when you've got such an impressive structure in front of you.

This shot is of the Maid of the Forth ready to take a few bold people across to Incholm Island. It was rather choppy. The other two wee boats were from the oil terminal nearby. I think they pop into town for their lunch. I liked the chap striding out in his orange onesie. And is that a blipper??

We got stopped by a man with a clipboard and a man with a film camera.

'Are you visitors to the area?'
'Yes.'
'Where from?'
'Edinburgh.'
This did not seem to count as a visitor. He persisted.
'Would you care to give your opinion on the possible names for the new Forth Bridge?'
'Yes, but I don't want to be on TV!'

There was a list of five possible names. I wasn't keen on any of them, and suggested a couple more. He did not write them down. They lost interest...

We had a coffee in a local restaurant. It got 4/10, but that was mainly because it was out of the wind and it had a good view of the bridge. And the coffee was hot. The tide was out, so we walked round the shore and I was more concerned about slipping on the rocks and cracking my camera than cracking my head.

We I contemplated sneaking on the next train over to North Queensferry, but we I chickened out, and got the train back to Waverley, where we were in time to see all the posh folk in the Royal Scotsman ready to go off on their four day tour. I think that would be rather a nice way to see Scotland. I may leave brochures lying around... (EDIT: I've just looked at the prices. I will not be leaving the brochures out.)

Chamaeleo is off on the evening train back to London Town, having seen everything there is to see in Edinburgh to go back to work. I do like showing visitors, especially blipping visitors, our part of the world, and the weather has been kind.

This signals the end of my 'non swimming' few weeks, and I fully intend to get back into swimming a daily kilometre in my new cozzie tomorrow morning at sparrow's fart.

I will.

I really really will.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.