Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Six ducklings? No such luck!

Saturday night and the home cinema came out. New big painting came down and the whole wall is our screen. Cameo 2&3 (and indeed Filmhouse 2&3) eat your heart out!

We have been watching 'In Treatment' which was on HBO originally, and funnily enough was apparently an Israeli production. As is Homeland. Anyway, the American version is great. Gabriel Byrne is great in anything. He plays a plays a psychotherapist, and each episode is about a patient, four patients, same each week. It's a great format, and as you get to know them, you want to know what happens to them. Highly recommended. By me. For what it's worth. Better than all the other rubbish they put on on a Saturday night!

I seem to have caught a cold and a bit of a cough from my wanderings in the Meadows over the weekend. Especially, I think it was the Very Early Saturday morning wander, before the sun even touched the blossom! How crazy is that. Also, in the afternoon, I was having fun for hours, pointing the camera at bikers and cricketers, and didn't notice how chilled I got. I think I need to get the duffle coat out again. Who said it was spring?

And so it was a lazy Sunday am TV, which soon turned into "Oooh! What am I going to blip today?"

So off out to the duck pond to check up on our courting couples. I could have had six ducks. Easy peasy. But I didn't. But that's not say I won't return to my 'NOT doing a Theme' at some point...

I think Mr and Mrs Duck (I'm sure it was them) from last week are still in love, but I see no homemaking signs. Perhaps they're still on honeymoon. In fact, Mr Duck was following his Mrs around, and I have several photos of her, with his face just behind, with a definite LEER on it. Unfortunately, because of the dull day, I couldn't use a fast speed, so none of them were perfectly in focus, but I might put one in the portfolio. I wanted to use it, as it made me laugh.

So I had to resort to this big chap. Or chap-ess. I actually had to look him up. He's a greylag goose. The background was so messy with logs and twigs and mud and bits of ducks. No, not bits of ducks, parts of ducks in the photo, that I decided to blur and B&W it. Haven't fiddled around on Photoshop for ages, so it was fun.

I was amazed to see that row of wee sharp teeth! You learn something every day on blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.