A single rose

The flowers down on the terrace are starting to fade and decay, and this was the only rose still on its bush. It's a little past its prime but still striking. I dedicate it to my niece Sarah, who has told us that she is expecting a baby in the Spring. I and all the family are so happy for her and thrilled that there will be another baby to love.

It was somewhat cooler today, though very muggy, and I spent it doing lots of laundry as my most lightweight clothing was all in need of a wash. There's still more to do, but I'll be taking the dark things that need to hang dry to Lex's house, where she has a very large washer and room to hang a lot of items. I'm missing the family a lot, but they seem to be having a great time up at Lake Chelan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.