Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Heather Time

I have to admit to have been struggling with my motivation for photography for some time.  It often happens in summer when sunrises are ridiculously early.

Anyway, today I took the opportunity to head over to Cannock Chase to see the heather, which is in full bloom.   Getting there just as the sun rose was invigorating and I spent a lovely couple of hours walking around a small area, reconnecting with my camera.  The discipline of landscape photography is so different from the type of photographs I have mainly been taking over the last few months.  Hopefully my mojo will return as we head towards autumn, possibly my favourite time of year.

It was an unusual day for work.  Camp Festival has started at Weston Park and I was on the late shift to assist with the noise monitoring of the event.  I have done this many times before when the V Festival took place, but what is unusual for this year is that music could continue on site until 2 am.  The important thing for the promoters was to stop that from unreasonably impacting on local residents.

Time will tell how residents will respond to the change from previous experience, we were able to monitor the impact at neighbouring properties and it will inform future events.  It did mean that I finally got home at 3.00 am Saturday morning and I am due back just after lunch today.

I've added a couple of extras, including the German War Graves memorial.  It just seemed suited to a low key mono treatment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.