Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Getting to Know You!

My first day of radiotherapy.  This is the machine that does the work, the bed rises up until the patient is at the height of the blue circle and then the various imaging plates and x-ray emitters swing around the body.  It took just under 15 minutes from getting on the bed to getting off.  

My tattoos were used to line me up precisely, I was asked to 'lie heavy' on the bed so that I was in the right position.  I honestly don't know any other way to lie.  In preparation I have to drink water so that the bladder is inflated, so imagine my surprise to be told I had too much fluid in the bladder; not something someone like me is used to hearing!  At least I am comfortable with the right amount for the treatment.

I can now look forward to 32 more sessions over the coming weeks, daily but for the weekends, my calculated end date is 4th October.  Fingers crossed the side effects are not too problematic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.