KCNQ2Haiku

By KCNQ2Haiku

New shoot

Restful Saturday.
Washing, walk, hot chocolate.
Leftovers for tea!

I've been taking it easy today after a busy week, had a bit of a Saturday lie in whilst Mr KCNQ2Haiku and Ben FaceTimed grandparents and then Ben and I walked into town to pick up some bits and get our Saturday Hot Chocolate.  Very satisfactory.  
Pottered, called my Dad (mid-call he discovered that his dog had stolen the chicken and bacon out of his lunchtime salad - whoops!).  We had what Ben calls a "Board Games Marathon" - this involves playing 2 or 3 board games for about 10 minutes each - so hardly a marathon but it is still an improvement in concentration for him, compared to a few years ago. Today was Chess (requested by Ben but lasted only about 5 minutes when he remembered he doesn't actually like chess); Pairs in Pears (a word game that is supposed to be fast and competitive but we play it slowly and collaboratively!) and Alias (a describing game that Ben is remarkably good at, I wonder if it stems from his early signing and communication difficulties - he has learned to think around how to describe something if someone doesn't understand what he is saying.. interesting anyway).  Then we made some tomato and garlic sauce for the boys' tea.  Mr KCNQ2Haiku and I are having leftovers from yesterday's family lunch, so Easy Tea for the win :-D
Ben has been tired today, I think the new medication dose is kicking in a little but we are also definitely seeing more chill and less quick reactions, so fingers crossed he continues to feel more settled.  
Photo is a little new shoot on a plant I have been battling with, it was a leaving present last year when I gave up work to support Ben full-time.  It has been getting more and more forlorn over the year but this heat wave has perked it right up, little shoots coming up all over the place.  I'm not at all green fingered but I do like to keep plants around, I operate on the principle that hope and optimism can probably keep them alive rather than any skill!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.