Clean Up

Another fine summers evening, another concert in a wonderful place. Today Lincoln Cathedral for organ recital by my "must see" (if local) Tom Bell. I always remind myself how privileged I am. 

I first saw him play here..
https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2984011654016011866

It was my first visit for a year and my first since the refurbishment of the entrance (main picture) had been completed and the scaffolding removed. Just awe inspiring.

The last extra, 4 views the organ and screen from the other side of the nave where we sat. Extra 3 is a shot of the video when on his feet sometimes playing two foot pedals (with each foot) as well as playing two keyboards above with his hands - mind blowing. 

Why I go
One of the few sections he played of Messiaen's Livre du Saint-Sacrement was outstanding. Very loud, typically atonal and with some ridiculously fast and intricate playing and some very slow; exactly what I enjoy most about organ music.

edit - the piece was Messiaen: Livre du saint sacrament – 13 Les deux murailles d’eau

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M3pcS7iMTrY

Such was the power/volume at one point that I felt like I was in a hurricane. The video clip below sprang to mind.

WARNING - loud, grotesque and disturbing music video excerpt below: 
Aphex Twin – Come To Daddy – Video Excerpt

His ridiculously fast and intricate playing of another section looked like it was the speeded up section of a horror movie.

Organ
It has been described by various sources including Gramophone magazine as being at least the match of any other installation in England. I could see why with it's ability with quiet, soft music as well as epic high volume.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.