Looking back

At the Park Run, looking back - over the years, not over my shoulder- there was no one really behind me. Despite doing a lot of walking I felt like I needed to get fitter for walking football, because some of the players are like young lads. I thought the Park Run would help though I had no intention of proper running, fearing a pulled muscle like last time. It was the first for a few years. Most of those were in Bolton where you ran like the wind to keep warm. So, today I did the Torbay Velopark Park Run, which I haven’t done since well before Covid. I had a plan but was still surprised when everyone, lining up here at the start, ran off. I imitated the walking football conditions, walking as fast as possible and breaking into a septuagenarian sprint when no one was looking. It was just right for me at the moment and after watching what has seemed like nonstop athletics on TV for three weeks, it was great to be actually involved in person, in some mass sporting participation with enthusiastic people. Hooked again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.