The Re-Imagining...

Before Scotland became littered with skateparks in just about every corner of the country, there was Livingston and there was Stirling. Living my formative years in Alloa I have been skating Stirling's Kings Park on and off in it's various incarnations, since it was first built way back somewhere in the mid to late 90s (I'll have to look that one up).

It had an original build, then at extension was put in some years later and finally, last year, a complete rebuild was done. I was lucky enough to have the place completely to myself this morning on a we jaunt over to the central belt. When the rebuild was done last year, it was all but demolished, all except for this prefab concrete half pipe that I'm skating here. This ramp was incorporated into the new rebuild brilliantly and seamlessly which is brilliant as it was one of the better parts of the park.

I tried to pass by the new park that's been built in Sauchie but it appears to be still be at landscaping. Ach well, got a wee look. Not all of it is very skateboarder friendly but it does have a nice wee halfpipe with bowled end on similar dimensions to this one in Stirling, so it's not a complete loss.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.