a lifetime burning

By Sheol

One mighty leap

Its due to be a fairly dull drizzly day today, so I took the chance to get some shots of bees on the lavender while it was actually dry this morning.  I really liked the pose of that I managed to capture here, as the carder bee moves towards full flight mode. I actually prefer it to the later shots in the sequence where the bee is in flight proper.  It nicely seems to capture that moment in time when the bee is at full stretch with its leap for the air, and the next lavender stalk.

The lavender is such a brilliant plant for bee photography, it just keeps giving. It would be very rare indeed for there to be no bees on it, and it provides plenty of opportunity to try to nail the focus as they move from flower stalk to flower stalk, without my needing to chase them around the garden.  It also produces a background that I find very attractive when it is out of focus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.