Mackerel Skies

It’s been a while since West Shore’s big skies have featured as my blip, so today seems as good a time as any to return to one of my favourite places - though I must admit this morning’s torrential downpours suggest any outdoor photography will be a struggle. 

The morning weather suits my mood; I’m weighed down by a sense of dread as today’s the day for medical appointment number three. But, like the weather, my mood lifts by late afternoon when I emerge from Glan Clwyd hospital. This time it’s a different issue (breast) - though I suspect that there may be a link - and having waited all last year for a simple surgical procedure, it’s now considered relatively urgent. This consultant - thankfully he is lovely - will try to fit me in as soon as possible, though this may not be until November. And now, because the condition has deteriorated, it will be a bigger procedure. Trying to get this done before our December departure for New Zealand will be a challenge. I’m grateful for some positive action - and some kindness, but so frustrated by the limitations of the NHS which seems to be just crumbling around us. It’s so easy to find myself so grateful that action will at last be taken, that I forget it’s inefficiencies and lack of funding that has allowed this situation to exist. And for so many, it’s far, far worse. 

So despite all this, I’m really feeling positive, reflected by the mackerel skies tonight. And as an extra there’s a near-mono collage of the few brave souls enjoying West Shore’s sea. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.