The damned stuff gets everywhere!

A bee on one of our sunflowers, seemingly struggling to clean himself off all the pollen. He stands upright and reminds me of something out of Dr Who - although on refreshing my memory the Zarbi were an ant race, not bee-like at all.

I took Ruby out for a nice blast around the southern Cotswolds, up to Stinchcombe and around the Berkeley Vale, twenty two miles in seventy minutes. I was amused to find myself cycling through a pack of the Stroud Cycling Club for a time, and even more amused to see Strava log my maximum speed as 79.3mph... I think that must have been the downhill section.

Imagine all the work bees do, every day, unpaid and unthanked. Much like Parish Councillors. Happily we use no chemicals in our garden, so the bees can continue their endeavours to our mutual advantage. The rest of us will just have to suck it up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.