pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Fun Enforcement Appointed Representative

I prefer working from home now, but do, on occasion have to visit the office to show my face and prove that I still work there. Today was one of those occasions.

Recently, I was inducted into the office Fun Enforcement Squad. Normally, I abhor “fun” being forced upon me or anyone else, but I thought that at least this way, I can a) twist the system to suit mine own ends and b) bring that same system down from within. It is early days, so we are still in a) territory so had managed to get us into a place where we had organised for everyone in the office to have a burrito of their choosing at lunch and for this to be paid for by our employer.

It wasn’t half bad and all the better for being free! I was however feeling quite heavy after basically inhaling mine, so thought a quick walk would be a good idea and headed up to the aqueduct spanning the Lune. It used to be a regular walk for me pre-pandemic, but I hadn’t been up there for a good couple of years. 

Being but a simple man the sight of water crossing over other water at height continues to fascinate me. There was also a nice cool breeze from up there, which broke up the humidity of the day.

The day in the office passed. Whilst it was nice to see some people it was yet another reminder that I don’t need to be there all the time to do my job.

I finished up with an overdue run and collapsed in front of the first half of The Batman, which was excellent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.