pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Shoe 'nuff

In the continuing series of “Monday’s with Dad”, I was a little unsure of what to do with the offspring today. 

In the morning, I’d looked at a house with my parents that was being considered by various members of the family. Fantastic location and amazing property with bags of potential assuming that it comes with its own hitherto unseen magic money tree.

On leaving the property, the weather didn’t look particularly inviting and in a sign of summer holiday fatigue setting in, I felt rather devoid of ideas. I turned to practicality and marched the children into town for some new school shoes and trainers for PE. In a flash, I was significantly poorer. I did however claim one small victory (with assistance from The Eldest), which was finding a pair of girl’s shoes which actually covered all of Matty’s feet!! 

I think we were all a bit bored and then my parents texted to say that they were off to Grange, where I hadn’t taken my lot for a stroll for a long while and where there also resides a really good bakery…

We strolled along and had a bit of kick about on the five a side pitch, before the weather turned and rain stopped play. There was no option but to visit the bakery where we picked up some delicious cakes, which were devoured with a brew and a rainy movie afternoon (Chip n Dale Rescue Rangers).

We were a man down for a little while whilst m’boy set off for a test drive in one of the cars he was looking at with his granddad the other day. I don’t know which of them was more excited on their return.

The wee ones were soon collected to head off to their other life and I dropped The Eldest back with her mum. 

I finally crashed out with leftover curry and the curiously compelling film; Brian and Charles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.