pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Packing it in

The children are very excited to be going away on holiday.

It’s lovely and I wouldn’t change it for the world, but it has made for a challenging day as I try and condense everything we need to be comfortable in a three-bedroom house down to a three-bedroom static caravan. I think we’re there though! The Eldest has turned up with a modest amount of stuff (fair play to her) and the car is three quarters packed overnight with only people, food and fun stuff to be added to the load.

I’ve even built a new playlist which is heavy on the rap for The Youngest, has some Hamilton in for m’boy and - in a move which will result in much dropping of jaws from them all – I’ve even put some Ed Sheeran and Harry Styles on there for The Eldest. I can think of no better way to demonstrate that my love for my children is spread equally among them and that I can make the ultimate sacrifice for them: voluntarily listening to Ed Sheeran and Harry Styles. 

There were a few hours grace in the middle of the day whilst they spent some time with their mum, so I took myself off for a slow, lumpy, breathlessly punishing 10k which I did not enjoy at all, but was glad to get done and it did enable me to capture a slightly different picturesque part of the river.

Tired now and so an early night beckons before the shenanigans of the week begin!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.