pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Oh. Deer!

Judging by some comments from my fellow Kendalians, I think the offspring and I were at the right end of the country today.

An already poor night’s sleep was broken by the wee ones bursting in and running amok in their grandparent’s house. It’s a curious thing, but having spent so much time on my own recently, it really takes me time to adjust to a sudden influx of noise, but it all came from a good place of the family being excited to see each other and all be together again!

A bright start to the day backlit some deer who had taken a wander up the field which backs onto the garden and they seemed quite happy meandering around grazing (do deer graze?)

My Dad and I popped out for some provisions and by the time we’d returned the offspring were merrily splashing around and having fun in the hot tub! The rest of the day passed with games in the sun-drenched garden (frisbee – until it flew next door, petanque, football and crafts) and a visit and cuddles from my sister and her family. 

Just prior to this, Dad and I had taken the dog for a walk and whilst crossing the field came upon this sight of a herd of wild deer. As we carried on walking over the brow of the hill, the view opened out and we saw the true scale of the herd, which must have easily got into a hundred or so.

This lead to my second deer related question of the day: where on earth do they all go?!

Cracking day and think a better night’s sleep will be had tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.