Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

For Philip

It was a big day in the Monarch Nursery with 8 butterflies emerging from their chrysalids.  I watched the first three come out, something that never fails to fill me with a sense of complete awe.  This one flew for my husband's brother, Philip who left us way too soon and is missed every day.  I took this shot about 5 minutes before he cracked open the transparent shell, letting tiny, shriveled wings and huge body emerge. (See Extra) And within less than 10 minutes he was a big, perfect butterfly.  `I think this particular phase is astonishingly beautiful - you can see the wings, the head, the antennae and the body all tucked into the chrysalid.  The last time we saw him, he was a big green, white and black striped caterpillar.  

Anyway, we let him go along with monarchs in memory of my FIL, 2 aunts and uncles on my husband's side and my great grandparents (Chloe and Albert) on my side.  Hubs and I did the releases together which made it more special, I think.  This brings me to about 35 so far for the year and probably at least another 35 to go.  I am keeping a list of requests for dedications, and there's plenty of room, so let me know if you'd like to remember someone in this way.

Jax and I took a walk this morning before it got too hot (we are back up to low 90's - ugh).  At one point during the walk, his prong collar disconnected and I was holding a leash without a dog at the other end.  Jax just sat patiently and waited.  He really is getting so much better.  Late yesterday afternoon I took him out with the idea of tossing the ball for him.  Instead, a giant case of dog zoomies came over him and he was flying all around our very large back yard at full speed.  Kind of like a brindle cheetah with floppy jowls and crazy ears.  

We've gotten some people interested in purchasing the RV.  It's still in the shop getting the front aircon replaced.  We also need to have the large awning re-attached but the part needed for that is on back order to we may arrange to sell it with some sort of agreement that it goes back to the shop when the part is in.  We'll see.  Meanwhile, Hubs' Mercedes is in the shop too and it's not looking good as the trouble appears to be the trans.  The car isn't worth that much now so we are debating wether to just let it go and get by on one car for a while.  Well, technically one and a half since the '70 Camaro.

I'm getting ready to sit down and spend some time looking at all the TinyTuesday entries - always fun.  I will announce my top picks tomorrow so check this space!

Dark with sea salt today.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.