Bumbling

A strange day. With a few triumphant moments :)
First thing, I heard a bin lorry going round the square so I leapt into my clothes and managed to catch them before they had gone too far. The crew had no idea that they were supposed to pick up the garbage from our building and were amazed when I opened the door to the bin-store. ("I've been on this route for 8 months, and I never knew this was here!") They had been told about the address, but didn't know where the entrance was. Management's fault, not theirs.
We emptied the bins and I filled up another 2 bins-worth of rubbish with the stuff which had got backed up in the bin-chutes. Also taught them the code for the lock to get in.

Didn't take any photos.
Went back to the flat and sent off emails to the Cooncil, and the local Cooncilors (Labour and Green Party). Then went up the road to do some shopping.
Didn't take any photos.
When I got home, I discovered that the coffee I had just bought was ground to a fineness like talcum powder, though I'd asked for it to be ground quite coarse for a cafetierre (I know, a middle-class nightmare, darling!!!) So I went back up the road to get it replaced.
Didn't take any photos.
Talked to Wee Frau Doktorin T and LH about future archaeological projects. Which was very enjoyable.
Didn't take any photos.
Then off along the Water of Leith for a blipwander. I took a couple of snaps of this bumblebee (Bombus pascuorum, perhaps?)
I was just stalking one of the many blackcaps that have arrived over the last few days, when Meles rang to say that the top Cooncil Waste Management honcho was heading up the stairs to the flat, could I get back right away?
Missed him, but M showed him the bin-store and gave him several of her patented Hard Stares. I imagine we will have a very efficient refuse uplift service from now on.


Maybe.


Spent the evening talking to my sister and my ex-sister-in-law about the funeral arrangements etc.
A full day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.