Sméara dubha

Nobody in the lane, and nothing, nothing but blackberries,   

Blackberries on either side, though on the right mainly,

A blackberry alley, going down in hooks, and a sea

Somewhere at the end of it, heaving. Blackberries

Big as the ball of my thumb, and dumb as eyes

Ebon in the hedges, fat

With blue-red juices. These they squander on my fingers.

I had not asked for such a blood sisterhood; they must love me.

They accommodate themselves to my milkbottle, flattening their sides.
From Blackberrying by Sylvia Plath

An odd day. Yesterday Himself hurt his back, hanging the towel up after his shower wtf??  Extremely painful but it eased during the day. Having had a pretty awful night, this morning he was unable to get out of bed and it hurt like hell. Between us we managed to the get him up and to the doctor where an injection in the bum and various medications are hopefully working fast. Not exactly what you want when you have a massive journey coming up. Please start crossing fingers NOW - you know what we're like with travel. Sigh. And that's before thinking about the conditions between Nelson and Takaka. Double sigh.

I am not kidding but as I write this Down Under has come on my up on my shuffle! Oh lord, it's been a long day, you know what I mean. An omen of some kind but I'm not sure what. 

Blackberries have been gathered and a crumble made. And there will be custard. 

And yes, Himself's rainbow pic is fabulous - I am still green with envy, 7 years after it was taken, almost to the day! He says thank you :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.