Oats - not Wild or Sown by me

I tasked my friend, Wendy, with finding me a field of oats. She tends to walk in the countryside in a different direction to us. She came up trumps yesterday and sent me the directions to get to the field.
So, I’ve now photographed barley, wheat, and oats. I noticed this year that many of the maize and wheat crops are shorter than usual. Apparently the farmers are using a variety that is less likely to get blown down or flattened by wind and rain. The crop of grain is the same, but there is not the same amount of straw, so I wonder if it is still worthwhile.
Anyway, that’s our day. A walk in the countryside, a blether with several friends as we walked back through the village, and a phone chat with the vet to let him know how Geordie is, and plan the way forward, since a very low fat diet is not necessarily the best thing long-term.
I’ve added a shot of my crazy Hollyhock plant in Extra, showing the base of the plant where the stems emerge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.