KCNQ2Haiku

By KCNQ2Haiku

Fairy Glen

Well, we slept! Hoorah!
Then shops, cooking, washing, and
hiked through fairy wood.

Ben had a much better night, so fingers crossed for that to repeat itself! Today felt busy, had a shopping delivery first thing and then made some salad, fetched some meat from the butcher, did a few loads of washing etc.  I had told Ben we could go up to Alderley Edge today but we ran out of time before lunch.  He was happy enough to leave it until after lunch but then I decided to call my Dad too, so it all got a bit late.  I thought it might be better to do our local woodland walk but Ben was not to be persuaded, so I decided it was not a battle worth fighting and off we trotted.  He likes to pick a walk that is navigable by way marker and the Alderley Edge ones are all satisfyingly named things like The Wizard's Way etc.  We decided to go for the Woodland Valley Way.  Sounds relaxing??  It was a mixed bag. The afternoon summer sun was beautiful and peeping through the trees, we were the only ones on that particular path and it was honestly like a little fairy glen but there were numerous fallen trees along the narrow and uneven paths, various log-style crossings of streams and an awful lot of 'Sheer Drop My Side' (family phrase that sounds amusing but is always very stressful to hear!!) Ben does not watch how he places his feet, it's part of his dyspraxia, he just doesn't think to plan where his feet are going in relation to the rest of him, so a walk that would be easy to someone else is quite a challenge to him (and me as I encourage him to put his feet away from the place where the path has fallen down the hill..)
But we made it, it was very satisfying and he was so positive and content all the way around, even on the very hilly bits.  So I was very glad he hadn't gone with my local walk idea.  
Wishing everyone (including myself) a sleep-filled Friday Night!! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.