KCNQ2Haiku

By KCNQ2Haiku

Bed

All day talk of beds.
Remove old and build the new.
Ready for good night :-D

It’s really all about the new bed today.  It arrived before 8am and Ben was so giddy. So, so giddy.  The intended schedule was that the bed was arriving early, the mattress was arriving just after lunch and a few other bits (4ft sheet and mattress protector) later on.  I told him we would collect everything together today and then early tomorrow we would dismantle his old bed and get going building the new one, I thought he would be too stressed about waiting for everything to arrive if we were planning to build it today….  But have I mentioned the giddiness :-/ We walked into town and he talked the whole way about his bed, then we went to the fishmongers where he told the lovely fishmonger and his wife ALL about the bed, then we bumped into a mum and dad we used to know from his primary school and he regaled them with more Bed information.  So after lunch when the mattress was definitely here Mr KCNQ2Haiku took Ben out for an extra long walk and play in the park and I set to work.  Dismantling the old bed was harder than anticipated but finally was achieved with the use of Mr KCNQ2Haiku’s bike tools! Then assembly was rather more straightforward than I expected. Although, I do love a flat pack build.  I remember, fondly my first Billy Bookcase from Ikea :-D  Older teen helped a bit too.  He was more about the moral support, rather than the practical but it was still lovely.  By the time Ben got home we had nearly finished and just had the slats to put in and the mattress etc.  It was just the right amount of work for his attention really and he is very happy with the results.  Only time will tell if it helps him sleep any better but he certainly has more room to stretch out, so that must be a win.  Between us though Mr KCNQ2Haiku and I are shattered, he’d already had a big bike ride up to the Brickworks this morning and then a mega session of keeping Ben entertained on a walk and I have my DIY exhaustion going on.  Did I mention it’s also our wedding anniversary.. we know how to celebrate!!
The photo is iPhone and blah but it’s clearly the thing I’ll remember about today and I guess that’s what the journal is about! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.