Further my skills

By H0tamer

More than 100 three-thousanders

D. and I choose the lovely weather this morning to visit the Stubaier Gletscher, a part of the Stubai Alps. You can find it at the end of the Stubai valley.
We took the cable car up to Eisgrat, with a "halt" at the middle station. Actually, the cars don't halt, but just move much slower. At the middle station, the cable cars move from one cable to the next, completely unnoticed by most passengers.
From the Eisgrat we took the next cable car up to the "Schaufeljoch" (a Joch is a ridge). Here is a platform at 3160m, from where 109 three-thousanders can be seen. Again very impressive.
We wandered a bit around, up and down. D. then told me I could go up the Schaufelspitze. Just 200m higher than the Joch, but a challenging climb anyway. Hardly possible without using the hands. And good shoes were definitely necessary.
I took my blip of today from above. Here, higher and with less mountains in my way, I could see even more mountains. The Wildspitze (2nd highest of Austria) was clearly visible, but also a whole range of Dolomites, far, far away (visible in my blip at the horizon). Worth a visit, either the platform or the peak.

PS: this area is so close to Italy, that my mobile phone kept switching from an Austrian provider to an Italian provider and back. And a lot of times I received an SMS (text message) telling me that due to roaming I could use my phone as though I was at home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.