Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Swanage Bay

My friend and I walked down to the steam railway late this morning and took one of the steam trains to Swanage (see yesterday’s blip). It was hot and there were LOTS of people on this sunny Bank Holiday weekend. I still enjoyed it, though. We mooched around in some little shops and art galleries, got a bag of chips (English chips, not American chips), people-watched, and enjoyed this view of the bay. The steam train was fun! It’s nice to have that within walking distance of the campsite.

I once drove through Swanage on a wet day in November and it seemed very sad - like a ghost town. It was the other extreme today - heaving, but full of life and colour. I’d quite like to go back midweek when it’s not a Bank Holiday and not peak season. Hopefully I’ll make it back one day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.