Lunch On The River

I left Bristol this morning but instead of going straight home I drove to Hanham on the river Avon, and met someone for lunch at the Chequers Inn pub there. My friend is the owner of this boat and I met her while in Bristol as she often moors her boat outside the campsite. Yesterday she moved the boat to this pretty spot in Hanham (half way to Bath) and suggested that we meet for lunch there before I continued on home.

It was a beautiful setting and a delicious lunch, sitting outside. These two lovely pooches are part of the ‘family’, so I enjoyed their company too!

I didn’t realise it when I left today, but I later decided that this last week would be my last visit to the Bristol campsite. I decided to cancel my last two bookings even though the campsite doesn’t close down until the 20th. It’s a pity because I still have things I want to see and do there! The camping club have bought some land a little further away and are hoping to turn it into the replacement site, pending planning permission. In the meantime I will have to figure out other ways to (cheaply) visit the city! And I am looking forward to some more rural camping trips in the coming weeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.