Another Empty House

Although the wind
blows terribly here,
the moonlight also leaks
between the roof planks
of this ruined house.


"Although the wind..."  by Izumi Shikibu, trans. by Jane Hirshfield


This old house is back from the road across from where my wife works. I pass it all the time, but since there is a large tree in front of it you only get glimpses as you zoom past. There is no driveway to pull into, so today I parked across the road and walked over to get a photo. I thought it would be fun to walk around it and find some interesting angles, but as it turns out the mosquitos were horrendous. Even worse than by my house, which is really saying something. So I just snapped a couple of shots and high tailed it out of there. 

Just like the last empty house I included here, I have been past this place for years and years without ever seeing any sign of activity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.