Difficult Day

This morning my siblings and I had a get together at my parent's retirement community in celebration of my mom and dad's lives. Dad died a year ago May and we didn't do anything to celebrate his life since we went into panic mode taking care of mom. So today we had coffee and cookies for anyone in the community who wanted to attend. My sister read a really lovely statement she'd written, and my other sister followed by reading two of my mom's poems. I couldn't speak through the tears, but several friends did. There were several caregivers and their few remaining friends, and the on site hairdresser who they went to for the 14 years they lived there. It was lovely, as well as being moving and difficult. Afterwards we tidied up a few last things at their "cottage" as it's called. 

I got home mid-afternoon and went to the disaster of a garden. Oh, you know it's not THAT bad...but it sure needs my attention. So I've started on it and will spend the day tomorrow just puttering around outside putting everything to rights. It's a joy to be able to be in the garden again....sorely needed. My solace.

The Buddleia bush and mint flowers are absolutely loaded with these Western Copper Butterflies. They're sweet little things - less than an inch long. I walked by both and a swarm leaped into the air, only to settle right back down. Really delightful!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.