An early visit to the sunflowers field

... which is next to the road I used to drive up when I worked at Woolley Hall (quite a long time ago now).  I love some images that GG had posted on Instagram and she told me where they were growing, so I thought I'd have an early visit.  I wasn't quite as early as I'd intended but actually the light was great when I was there.  It was a lovely thing to do at the start of the day.  I've seen that view many times and in many lights as I've been driving home but need stopped to contemplate it in  the morning.  (It's the view towards High Hoyland and beyond the Sculpture Park for those of you who know the area.)

The field has been mix planted with a seeding crop, sunflowers, oil-see rape and I'm guessing it's been done for the pheasant rearing that happens around here.  Quite an acreage all in all.  I've ended up with a great many images, so this is an initial choice - I've tried to include some of the other seed plants too.

I've been assembling my new garden table this morning - fairly straight forward when you know what you are doing.  It's a pity I got the circular bit below the table upside down to begin with, but as I said, easy once you know how and it came apart and went back together again fairly easily.

And then finally I've been sat having a bit of a rest.  It's my brothers birthday today and as he's living in the US we will probably Skype - not the same time restrictions as Zoom - but then Skype might go wrong!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.