Sunday walkabout

in 'Expressive' camera mode.
Mum has forgotten she is going out for lunch today with my brother & his wife. I've no idea what their plans are so text my brother suggesting he call Mum to confirm arrangements as I leave to walk Indie.  Loads of blackberries ripe & begging to be picked, Indie & I shared a few during our walk. The DWT workers have been in one section of the heath and chopped the tops of bracken off. The patterns caught my eye, so tried different modes on my camera, to get the effect I thought would work.
When I returned, Rog had called Mum "I'll give you a call when we're leaving". Not great for Mum as she really is getting quite confused.
I planted up the window box outside her dining room window with Autumn cyclamen & ivy. Morrison's 9m pots of ivy @ a pound are perfect for splitting and using to trail over the box. Did a few more gardening jobs while Mum did some deadheading, then a coffee. I suggested Mum got herself ready for her lunch  out . Mum has shingles, diagnosed by me, a telephone appointment with a doctor later on Thursday, a prescription for antivirals. She has to take the meds 5 times a day, so I've set my mobile alarm clock so that I can call Mum to remind her. I find it quite incredible that the doctor did'nt want to see my mother first before prescribing meds. "I don't want to prescribe anything too strong because of her age". . The shingles are down Mum's shoulder & arm,  not causing her a lot of pain, just discomfort with the rash which she is coping with, thank goodness.  I need to make another dementia assessment appointment, as Mum's memory is deteriorating rapidly. An early surgery phone call tomorrow.
I left Mum & headed back onto CK heath with my empty containers. A few scratches & snags later I'd filled all 3 containers with blackberries. I was'nt the only one interested in the juicy ripe fruits...... Mission accomplished. Walked back across the heath, the cattle were grazing beside the gate where I needed to exit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.