Kipsie

By Kipsie

This year's crop

Laundry on the line I headed for the plot. I'm starting a new tradition, planting onions on August Bank Holiday. Prepared land alongside the leeks, Sensyu onions, shallots (an experiment with a bag of shallots from the £1 cart at Trago), plus 2 cloves of garlic, virtually filled the bed. I need a few more cloves to complete.
Down to CK to walk Indie, I took some plot veggies for Mum to have with her meal. I picked another 2 pots of berries during our walkabout on the heath. After a pain au raisin & coffee I dug out the fern stumps, improved the ground with 2 bags of top soil then planted the 5 Leylandii filling in the gap at the base of the hedge in the back garden. Kevin arrived as I was leaving so I asked him to clip the pyracantha that runs along the grade wall. A job he can do easily with his machinery. Saves me a job. Late lunch - Pomodoro tomato & mayo sarnie while having a go at yesterday's newspaper crossword. Yum! Did bedding wash, got that on the line, sent Liz a message, time to do some potting up. First a pot of Evening primrose seedlings, then the Leycesteria seedlings that I teazed out of the gravel in the back garden. The bug has returned, I'm already thinking about plants for next year's sale. Liz arrived to collect the blackberries. Gardening jobs completed, time for a cider.
Made sweet & sour sauce using onion, courgette, tomato, & French beans from the plot, plus a generous dollop of last year's homemade tomato sauce/ketchup, to accompany the battered chicken fillets I picked up at the Coop. Very tasty & satisfying.
Thank you all so much for my birthday messages yesterday. X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.