RetroPHit

By ArachneToo

Staircase housing

When the builder was eliminating as much as he could from the house design in order to save money he suggested leaving the existing steep and narrow staircase. I said that I'd compromise on a lot but not that. In the architect's plans that I had to completely abandon the staircase was lovely but its position meant that too much expensive structural work would need to be done so I agreed with the builder that the new staircase would be in the same position as the old one. 

How to create extra steps in the same overall height? The staircase couldn't extend back any further without seriously compromising a bedroom so I suggested a 90° turn at the top. This wouldn't work in most houses but could in mine because it is on a 10° splay, giving a bit of extra width at the rear. So that's what will happen. It's meant moving one partition so that the landing isn't too narrow, but the removal of the chimney breast means that the room on the other side will still be big enough. It'll also mean changing the position of one door which involves some knocking through and a new lintel. But I reckon both of these are money well spent.

This is the newly built frame for the top of the staircase which shows the splay very clearly. It's not quite as marked as it looks because (I assume) of foreshortening but I was very surprised when I first moved into the house to see that the noticeable extra width at the back was caused by a mere 10°. It makes my garden about twice as wide at the far end as those of my neighbours.

(Now anyone who remembers trig and knows the standard width of a Victorian terrace can work out roughly how long my garden is!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.