Re-evaluating, Remembering And Rejoicing

There was a lot going on in the service at FBC this morning!  We began the service, lifting our voices in congregational praise and worship to God after which the choir, orchestra and our talented accompanists offered a lively version of "Redeemed By The Blood Of The Lamb" with Larry and Tammy singing the solos and duet parts. After that, we continued to join our hearts and spirits in more congregational songs preparing us for the observance of the Lord's Supper which we participate in to remind us of Christ's sacrificial death on the cross to pay the price for our sin so that we can spend our eternity in His presence.  But, of course, first Pastor Wes had a few thoughts to share with us on James 1:12  to help us think about what drives our relationship with Jesus.  He reminded us that trials of many kinds come into the life of the believer to bring to light weaknesses or gaps in our lives, places where we need to be strengthened or things that we may be missing in our walk with Christ.  He spoke about the testing that is meant to produce endurance as with metal in the fire.  He told us that approval and acceptance are not the same thing for the believer, that blessed and happy should not be confused in the life of the believer and that the trials that come may be painful but not without purpose.  Pastor Wes unpacked a lot from that one verse and it would encourage you to watch the Live-stream to get the full explanation and impact of his sermon.  After the invitation, we did observe the Lord's Supper which ended our service, but I still had a little rejoicing in store for me.  My daughter brought my grandson over to where I was standing and I had my phone camera handy, so I was able to get a picture that I could blip because I had taken it myself!  I hope that you don't mind that I exercised grandma/photographer privilege to include him in my Sunday collage.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.