Irony

So, I went down to Wittersham Road to grab a photo of a diesel-hauled train; I mentioned that KESR have brought in a couple of diesel locomotives because of the risk of line-side fires when running steam. I checked the timetable and arrived in plenty of time, so I wandered onto the platform and started sorting out my camera. I glanced up to see the signalman approaching (it wasn't Tryfan). He asked if I was aiming to catch a train and I said that I was more interested in a photograph. "Ah!" he said "There's a problem, the next train will be the DMU and it's some time away". The diesel had gone tech, it was overheating... Of all the faults to develop, this one seemed ironic.
I set a course for Stone-cum-Ebony to grab this shot. It's been on my blippable list ever since a local news programme used it as a backdrop to a story. Stone-cum-Ebony is a tiny place and is most famous for being where Sir Donald Sinden, the actor, lived and ultimately died.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.