Four Candles

When you are four and the wind blows out the candles on your birthday cake.  I just love the expression on Erica's face.

Daddy recovered the situation and candles were blown out before the family went for a ride on daddy's train.  Dad, Ed, was on a Fireman turn today.   Jamie and I had been invited to come and share cake ... there were lots, enough to share with all Erica's railway friends.   After they left, I had to dash home and change into my railway uniform for my guarding turn on the following train.  Today was also my three yearly assessment of competency so I had company in the van for the trip.   Unusually for the last train of the day, we picked up and dropped off passengers at most stations and I even got to sell some tickets.   A perfect afternoon for a ride up the valley and happy to say I passed the assessment.

After a hectic few days it was a positive pleasure to take a gentle walk up the lane at Rhydyronen with C and the Megs at sunset this evening.   Gentle conversation and a sit down at Rhydy station after the walk helped me unwind a little, a much needed interlude of calm.

Fork Andles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.