pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Busy Holiday Monday

Definitely a Sunday vibe to Bank Holiday morning, so we headed off to the A6 Boot Sale this morning, which despite being sparsely populated by sellers did have some nice things up for grabs and we both picked up books and things for our respective offspring.

We were naturally exhausted by our efforts and hadn’t eaten anything for at least five minutes (well LadyV nibbled at some of the remnants of last night’s takeaway), so we headed for a mooch around Beetham Nursery and more importantly a decently-priced fry-up at the lovely cafe they have there.

My head had finally cleared (a timely reminder as to why I steer clear of spirits and liqueurs) as we sat chatting away and I did the gentlemanly thing in helping her out with her breakfast when she got full. We stopped at a charity shop on our way back to mine - picked up a new lampshade for £2.50 - REEEEEESULT - and then it was time to say a reluctant good bye, as we won’t be seeing each other for a little while. 

I was glad of the final bits of packing I had to do for my foray down South with the wee ones - The Eldest wouldn’t be joining us this time as she has secured another job! The wee ones arrived at lunch and despite it being Bank Holiday, we all agreed that we would much rather just get on with the journey, so I packed yet another picnic and we jumped in the car.

All things considered, it wasn’t too bad and we arrived at my parents at around 7.30pm. The wee ones were immediately straight out into the garden and started shooting each other with nerf bullets. 

I shared the last of the bottle of white wine I had brought with my mum (my dad having smashed the highly expensive bottle of Aldi red I had brought down) with our chat being punctuated by the excited shouts and screams of the children as they played outside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.