Home Grown

After we got to the room following the conclusion of the party, I started to drift off on the bed. Unfortunately, the act of getting up so that I could get ready for bed needed up waking me up and I took a little longer than I hoped to get to sleep. We got up about 9am and went down to a full breakfast room about 9:30am.

After breakfast we sat with family by the canal drinking coffee and dissecting the previous evening.We agreed that, after check-out, we’d all meet in the hotel’s Spa complex cafe. It took a while to check-out as PY and I had a bunch of gifts for Mum and Dad in the room which needed to be distributed before we left. Several trips later and everything was with the right people.  

We went yo the pool but did not stay for very long but it was nice to have 20 minutes before saying goodbye to everybody. I am glad we made use of the facilities for a little bit. I would like to have done it with everybody yesterday but I was in speech learning mode. 

The journey home was, obviously a little longer, but the SatNav suggested that the fastest route was back to Shrewsbury and then on the M54-M6-M42-M40 route back home. And it was quite pleasant. I filled up with petrol at Telford Service and, then again, when we got home and the round trip added £80 to the bill for fuel.  Given all the news about fuel prices recently, I was expecting something higher. It’s not cheap - and the whole rental much more than a return train would have been - but, this weekend, convenience beat price.

The weather continued to be lovely and so we went out and bought ingredients for a Greek Salad. About 8pm PY made it up using some of our home grown lettuce leaves. And we sat out until 11pm in the garden. We event used the garden light for the first time this year. It’s lovely to sit outside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.