curns' corner

By curns

Ten years

Ten years ago was the Opening Ceremony of the 2012 Olympic Games in London. I’d seen a technical rehearsal the previous Monday (23rd) but that had bits edited out: for example, we didn’t see the video of the Queen leaping out of the helicopter. On the night, there were very mixed reactions to the ceremony from the people I was with and the people messaging me on the night.  I enjoyed it all and, when I watched it again a few years ago, I still enjoyed Danny Boyle’s vision in the opening ceremony.

Back in 2013 I wrote about my moment of 2012 and the sound of those drums - real or in my memory - will still bring a smile to my face.  PY and I weren’t vey lucky in the original ticket ballot and only managed to snag a couple of events that were not based in the Park. But, due to a reasonable number of late availability tickets being put up for sale we, eventually, did see quite a lot of the games and a lot of the paraolympics too. At some point I bought three of the special edition Lego figures.  These have been out of their packets and so are faded a little but they followed me to some events and continue to sit and stare at me every day as I work from home.  Here they are photographed looked at the map of the Legacy Trail.

I have very happy memories of 2012. I think people came together in a way I had never experienced before and, in our current divided world, I am not convinced that I will see such a thing again in my lifetime. Which is a little bit sad. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.