curns' corner

By curns

New home

At lunchtime I had a look around the room that I work from and decided that I ought to make a more effort to tidy up some of the things that have been sat waiting to be rehoused for months. They sit all around me but are strategically placed not to appear on the video screen during conference calls and they get in the way of keeping the place tidy.   The main items for removal were two tents that, months I go, I took out the loft in order to create some space. 

I’ve been meaning to take them to charity shop and, today, on a run to the Post Office, I dropped one of them off. PY suggested checking to see if my nephew wanted the other one. Now, the newer, lighter tent will have a new home in Edinburgh. I must remember to take it up when I next go.

Yesterday, we discovered the the cycling part of the Commonwealth Games this year is happening at the Velo Dome in the Olympic park. The rest of the events will be in Birmingham but, I guess, there are only so-many world class cycling facilities that a country can reasonably support and somebody made the decision to reuse and not build new.  By the time we had finished our lunch we had two tickets to some cycling events on Sunday morning. It will mean an early start but it will mean we can say that we’ve been to the Commonwealth Games without leaving London.  It might make watching tonight’s opening ceremony more personal. It’ll also give us an excuse to explore the Olympic Park again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.