Beauty in Berry Form

Last night’s dinner was delish and hubby really enjoyed everything. I had a quiet but very productive day compared to yesterday. Put away anything out of place inside and washed a load of laundry, cleaned the garage floor and picked vegetables. My DIL made a squash casserole with what I had picked earlier. It will be perfect with our corn and crab cakes later. While I was outside, I pulled a few weeds, foolishly without gloves. Some type of insect stung me but thankfully, hydrocortisone reduced the swelling and pain. I know better! I decided to share these lovely beauty berries with you. It was hard to decide if I should photograph the entire bush or go for the close up. Reading about them while looking for a quote, many articles said they are good for making jelly. Don’t think I will try it though, supposedly they taste mediocre. But I bet the jelly is quite colorful. My sister and I worked on our WV menu and I created the spreadsheet. Still have to make a grocery list but we have a week. Hubby worked hard all day. He changed the oil in the truck, rescheduled any appointments that will conflict with our WV trip and set up tire rotations on two vehicles after going through the car wash. The owners have been having problems with the car wash machine. It broke a piece off our mirror but they will get it fixed. He trimmed around all the trees, gardens, etc. He’s shopping at the moment and running other errands. We got such good news today. One of my former coworkers (83 yrs old), who is the father of our parish school’s principal, was severely injured while cutting a tree a few weeks back. A neighbor saved his life by performing CPR but he’s been unconscious until today. Thank you Lord for hearing our prayers. He is not completely out of the woods so if you are so inclined, lift him up in prayer. Thanks for the visit and your kind comments on my great grand’s photo yesterday. Stay safe. “Colors are the smiles of nature.” —Leigh Hunt

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.