tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Raisins d'etre

Mrs Burford is recovering well after her poorly episode last week.

Giving a chicken a pill is not an easy undertaking. For a start you need three hands: one to hold down the wings, one to open the beak and another  to pop it in.

So I decided that an alternative approach was called for.  Using a pestle and mortar, I grind up the (quarter) tablet  then I pull apart 5 or 6 raisins and use the sticky interiors to mop up the pill powder, then I close the raisins up again and present them to Mrs B, who scoffs them in double quick time - so fast in fact that they had gone before I pressed the shutter.
I'm pleased to say she's no longer making the raucus breathing sounds that so concerned me.

She even laid a poorly egg - albeit about a third of the size of a normal egg. (Eggstra)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.