KCNQ2Haiku

By KCNQ2Haiku

Speckled Wood Butterfly

Tired. But keep going.
Free (heavy) cookery books.
Speckled butterfly.

Early start.  I definitely need a new plan, the bed was not a magic solution. I'm hoping the routine of going to school will help..
I've actually been waiting on a psychiatrist appointment for Ben but the old psychiatrist left, so I'm waiting on a new one who has only been in post since last week. I've chased it but it's so discouraging to have to start at the beginning with professionals when the situation is so complex, so my heart's not really in it.  What people think are helpful suggestions are all things we've been over, a thousand times :-( The psychiatrist before last tried to tell me I needed to work on adapting Ben's environment.  I nearly exploded right there in front of her, what had we been doing for the last probably 10 years?? We didn't end up getting on well.  But the most recent one was really co-operative, he saw how hard we were all working and how much Ben was struggling.. but now he's gone.  So here we are at square one again.  I think it might be one of Ben's meds (for ADHD) that is affecting his sleep but yet, overall he's been a lot less aggressive since he started taking it, so it's complicated and we are definitely ready for some advice, once the appointment arrives :-/  
Today we cleared some books from Ben's bookshelf and we (I) carried them into our 'GET free books' bookshop in town.  It's a lovely scheme where everyone can choose 3 free books.  If you can, you also donate some so that there's plenty for everyone.  We had plenty to drop off and Ben chose 3 really heavy hardback cookbooks to bring home.  I was anticipating this really but I still asked him, hopefully, to have a look at the paperbacks.  They did not inspire him.  He did agree to help me carry them home (it's about a mile) and that lasted approximately until the next shop front where all was handed back to me!
He's enjoyed looking through them though, he's going through a Jamie Oliver phase, that's his favourite TV at the moment.  He gets little themes and particularly TV shows stuck in his head sometimes.  He likes cooking with me but it's not that he's looking for cooking ideas, I think he just likes watching the process and of course, he's all about Food in general. He often sits with a cook book shouting out ingredients or asking if I think something sounds nice or weird! 
Anyway, after lunch we went up to the woods and found this nice little Speckled Wood Butterfly (I think!) I'm always pleased when I get my macro lens to work as the auto focus is broken and I have to use manual, which I find hard.  Ben was getting really tired though after his early start, so we're just trying to keep busy enough to stay awake now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.