Apples

Today is my late mother's birthday. She's been gone thirteen years now and there are still times like today when I really miss her.

Despite that, it's been an OK day today. I walked round the block with James, and took a picture of a neighbour's apple tree. They have more apples than they need so they've put out a box of them for people to help themselves. That happens quite a lot round here.

I played clarinet for only the second time in weeks. It's so much easier to get the sound out when I'm relaxed - I just went back to a book of tunes with things like Telstar, and other nice slow easy melodies. Neil joined in and it was OK. I need to get back to clarinet for the sake of my lungs! It's supposed to be good for them, or so the physio said.

The weather has definitely changed. It's been a relief to lose the heat at night but I really, really don't want it to be autumn yet!

In the past I've done the 'write 50,000 words of a story in November' Nanowrimo challenge, and I've found myself toying with story ideas right now, although I don't know if I'll take up the challenge again this year. I made a lot of good friends doing it in the past, when we used to meet up in London, but most of them don't do it now and there's no way I'm going to any indoor meetings!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.